Cheaney, Dischinger, Drew selected to college hoops Hall of Fame

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — Former Indiana star Calbert Cheaney, Purdue’s Terry Dischinger and longtime Valparaiso coach Homer Drew are among six former players and three influential coaches selected Tuesday for the College Basketball Hall of Fame.

Joining them during the induction ceremony this November are longtime coaches Lute Olson and the late Rick Majerus, Duke’s Shane Battier, Providence’s Ernie DiGregorio, UNLV‘s Larry Johnson and Stanford standout Todd Lichti.

Olson won 781 games during a decorated career at Long Beach State, Iowa and Arizona, taking the Hawkeyes to the Final Four and the Wildcats to a trio of Final Fours and winning the 1997 title.

Majerus, who died in 2012, won 517 games at Marquette, Ball State, Utah and Saint Louis. He was best known for his time with the Utes, leading them to the national championship game in 1998.